Ronnie Prevost, Ph.D.

Seminary Faculty

Professor of Church Ministry

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Hardin-Simmons is a place where students are challenged to grow in many dimensions of life: the spiritual, intellectual, social, and moral, to name a few. This is best done in community -- indeed, as a family. We are here -- students, faculty, and administration alike -- to challenge, support, and encourage each other as fellow pilgrims. HSU sees its role as a Christian school as a challenge to excellence, not as an excuse for mediocrity. One of the many joys of teaching at HSU is to watch a student mature from one who fears and avoids the struggle of intellectual and spiritual growth to one who embraces that struggle. HSU's school song has the wonderful line, "great are thy victories o'er land and over sea." The great and countless victories of HSU are not limited to athletic competition, but include the work of its alumni over the years and around the world. It is a privilege to be a part of that vision.

Degrees Earned:

Bachelor's ~ Religious Education ~ Mississippi College ~ 1971

Master's ~ M.Div ~ New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary ~ 1975

Doctorate ~ Historical and Philosophical Foundations of Education ~ New Orleans Theological Seminary ~ 1978

Courses Taught:

BIBL 1302 - New Testament Survey

CHST 6130 -

CHST 6230 - Baptist Heritage and Thought

MNST 3380 - Introduction to Youth Ministry

MNST 6099 - Special Topics

MNST 6332 - Instructional Theory and Practice in the Church

THEO 6101 - Theological Research


A Distinctively Baptist Church

Study guide available at:


HSU Administration

Lanny Hall, Ph.D., President
Thomas V. Brisco, Ph.D., Provost, Chief Academic Officer
Vicki House, M.B.A.,
Vice-President for Enrollment Management
Mike Hammack, M.B.A., Executive Director of Institutional Advancement
Harold Preston, M.B.A., Senior Vice-President for Finance, Chief Operations Officer
Dave Rozeboom, Ph.D., Senior Vice-President for Student Development

Seminary Trustee Advisory Board

Dr. Brent Gentzel, Kaufman
Mrs. Tina Hunter, Abilene, Chair
Dr. Jerry Joplin
, Lubbock
Mrs. Leigh King, Abilene
Rev. Joe Martinez, Houston
Mrs. Norma Schaffer, Abilene
Dr. Glen Schmucker, Fair Oaks Ranch

Logsdon Seminary Administration and Staff

Don Williford, Ph.D., Dean of Logsdon Seminary & School of Theology
Penny Gammill, A.A., Administrative Assistant to the Dean

Robert R. Ellis
, Ph.D.
, Associate Dean of Academics
Rosie Hollingsworth, M.M.A., Assistant to the Associate Dean of Academics

Ken Lyle, Jr.
, Ph.D.
, Director of the Master of Divinity Program
Randall Maurer, Ph.D., Director of Master of Arts in Family Ministry Program
Larry Baker, Th.D., Director of Doctor of Ministry Program
Omer Hancock, Th.D., Financial Officer and Director of University In-Service Training
James Stone, M.Div., Director of Placement and Congregational Resourcing
Daniel Martin, B.B.S., Coordinator for Student Services and Admissions

Copyright 2010 | Hardin-Simmons University's Logsdon Seminary